My First Podcast

Today I released my first podcast. In this post, I’m going to show you why making this podcast and marketing it is a win for me, regardless of the outcome.

Early on in the creation process, when I was just looking for guests, I asked a friend to come on the show. He asked me, “Roland, what do you want to get out of this? What’s your goal?”

That is a perfect example of asking the wrong question.

I have many things that I want the podcast to be. I want it to appeal to both industry people like DJs and promoters, as well as dance music fans in general. But how will it do that? I have no idea.

The part I expect will surprise a goal-oriented thinker is that I consider the unplanned nature of my podcast an advantage, not a problem. It’s a system, not a goal.

I decided initially that the podcast would involve a guest. Is it a problem that I didn’t have a guest? No. It’s an opportunity.

The podcast gave me an excuse to flex my social muscles and step into the world in search of a guest (Ok, I used my phone). Every time I offered a producer, DJ, or even a friend the opportunity to be my first guest, I was:

  • Practicing my persuasion skills, or “how to win someone over”
  • Doing maintenance on current relationships, and making some new ones
  • Inventing new topics to talk about

Every one of those is a net benefit. In the meantime, I practiced recording a podcast on my own to learn how the software and equipment worked. Those awful first takes were helpful because it saved me from learning to use the software awkwardly in front of my first guest.

Eventually, I did get a yes from somebody, and they were actually a guest I thought I should save for later. I knew this person had contacts and was probably “busy”, so I hesitated to ask. That made his yes more surprising. So I made some questions and we casually recorded the conversation.

I keep this guest as a new friend. We had a great time.

The editing is another lesson in learning as you go. There is no universe in which the editing on my first podcast is perfect.

Instead of fiddling for hours, stressing over minor imperfections, trying to get everything right, I opted for a simple approach. I edited out the parts that made me cringe, made an intro and outro, and called it a day. A product with flaws is better than releasing nothing.

The other perk is that my next podcast will have something I can compare it to. I’ll know more about mic placement, using the recording software, and how to handle guests. All of this comes from treating it as a system, where I repeat something that I know will pay off in the long run, instead of nitpicking on progress towards a goal.

And I haven’t even started promoting it yet.

Think about it this way. I have a podcast that I can post, and repost, as many times as I like. I can share it on social media (practice). I can get creative with new places to post it and find new producer friends in the process, especially because the podcast is aimed at helping producers.

Eventually, people will start asking to come on the show. That’s another opportunity created just by doing it, and not worrying about the outcome. In the meantime, I can figure out how to make the content appealing to a wider audience, without the stressing feeling of perfection.

Listen to my first podcast with Ketafere here:

Leave a Reply

