Producer Groupthink

I am writing this post for a select few people. If I tagged you or somehow directed your attention here, the post is for you. Music music music. Follow along.

Until a few weeks ago, I thought doing job-related work outside of work hours was bullshit. Doing work-related tasks outside of work hours for free wasn’t just stepping in it. That was wading through it knee deep.

If I was anyone else, I probably wouldn’t have noticed this belief slipping away. But it has. I just sat down to study work material for twenty minutes completely by choice (actually I was jiu jitsuing nervousness away).

In part my beliefs are changing because of groupthink.

It is subtle, but everyone in my company has a desire to succeed. The ambitions aren’t spoken, but I presume everyone else has an image of a better future burned into their mind. Everyone has their own ambition reinforced when they feel like their peer is trying about as hard as they are, or harder.

We all behave within a certain subset of human behaviors. We show up, we fuel ourselves with positive feelings, and we do a good job. In short, we try.

I’d like to bring the power of groupthink to music producers. I’m certain most of us who haven’t “made it” yet fall into two categories. Either…

A) You produce, but if you tried, you could produce a lot more, and you sometimes feel down about your work or your odds of success.

B) You put a lot of time towards producing, and usually have positive feelings about it, but you’d appreciate having a source of motivation outside of yourself.

I assert that I know how to produce motivating feelings in a group of people, and link the motivation to the regular music activities you do at home. I was suspicious I could do it for a while, but the same techniques were used at my workplace. So I know. The result might be subtle for some, but others would find their net output goes up drastically.

The plan’s tl;dr is tribal bonding, commitments, imagination exercises, and some group chants (“Hoorah”). It works.

The long version is that when you have a group of people who you like, you have access to people who want you to succeed. (I can design the culture that way. Easy.) You might not realize it, but disappointing your friends might hurt even more than disappointing yourself. These friends can hold you accountable to your own progress. And it’s surprisingly easy to get your imagination fired up when you have other people doing the exercise beside you. Sometimes imagination is used as a demotivator — to bring your mood down. I can show you how to use it to fire you up. As for the group chants, I’ll get back to that.

I personally feel like the motivation alone would make regular attendance worthwhile for other producers, musicians, DJs, etc. It would create other opportunities for us as we expand. I have things up my sleeve, but use your imagination for now.

Lastly, forget the chants if you’re reading this at home. If you love this idea, stop and pump your fist in the air for me right now.

Then share the post with a friend. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

